News Detail

kwahu February 12, 2024


On Monday, February 12, 2024, the Kwahu West Municipal Assembly inaugurated its sixth Assembly at the forecourt of the Assembly premises. This event followed the successful conduct of the District Level Elections by the Electoral Commission on December 20, 2023. The new Assembly comprises thirty-eight members, including twenty-six elected members and twelve government appointees. Additionally, the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) and the Member of Parliament (MP) are part of the Assembly, bringing the total membership to forty, though the MP does not have voting rights. The gender distribution of the Assembly consists of thirty-two males (84%) and six females (16%).

The ceremony was chaired by Nana Osono Adade, Chief of Nkawkaw. Distinguished guests included Hon. Diana Asonaba Dapaah, Deputy Minister for Justice and Attorney General, Her Lordship Adwoa Akyamaah Fosu (Mrs.), Magistrate of the Mpraeso Circuit Court, representatives from the Regional Coordinating Council (RCC), heads of departments, representatives of local churches, Islamic clerics, and civil society organizations.

In his welcome address, Hon. Yaw Owusu Addo, MCE of Kwahu West, extended congratulations on behalf of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to the Assembly members. He urged them to serve with dedication, hard work, and integrity, emphasizing the importance of engaging with their communities to understand and address local developmental needs. Hon. Joseph Frempong, MP for Nkawkaw, advised the new members to avoid involvement in chieftaincy issues and to focus on their duties. He stressed the importance of cooperation with the Chief Executive, the Coordinating Director, and the Assembly staff, and encouraged members to point out issues in their communities. The MP also announced upcoming projects, including drainage dredging to prevent flooding, rural electrification, and improvements to telephone networks. He mentioned that medical equipment and medicines would be provided to the Municipal Health Directorate.

Hon. Diana Asonaba Dapaah, representing President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, highlighted the significance of the ceremony in the context of deepening decentralization as mandated by the 1992 Constitution. She urged the Assembly members to change the status quo and enhance local governance, ensuring citizens have access to basic services at the district level. Quoting the President, she stated, “I am expecting that you would be part of the team that finally, changes the status quo and deepen local governance and decentralization to enable the citizens have access to basic public services in their District rather than demanding for such services from Accra.” She also encouraged the Assembly to support the implementation of the Government’s Economic and Social Development Policies (2022-2025).

The Assembly and Unit Committee members were sworn into office by Her Lordship Adwoa Akyamaah Fosu (Mrs.), who led them in taking the Official Oath, the Oath of Secrecy, and the Oath of Allegiance. The inauguration marked a new beginning for the Kwahu West Municipal Assembly, setting the stage for enhanced local governance and community development.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *